KFCRIS Logo

Units


The Iranian and Persianate Societies Studies Unit focuses on the academic study of modern Iranian politics, international relations, energy security, intellectual history and culture, and their broader significance for the history of the region, as well as those of other Persianate societies. Given Iran’s geostrategic position in the Gulf and its many contributions to statesmanship and scientific learning, a comprehensive and analytically sophisticated understanding of this country is indispensable to grasping regional dynamics and transformations, both past and present. The unit endeavors to draw upon the latest theoretical and methodological approaches offered in the disciplines of political science, sociology, history, economics, philosophy, and anthropology for the study of modern Iran and Persianate Societies and to publish research findings in these fields

 

For more information on Iranian and Persianate Societies Studies in the Research Department at KFCRI:

 

research@kfcris.com

 

 

 

The Energy Studies Unit was established to contribute to the global dialogue on energy geopolitics by studying global events that impact the world’s political landscape. The unit aims to provide a platform for open and constructive discussion to enhance the resiliency and adaptability of the Kingdom’s energy sector by addressing internal challenges, such as energy security, as well as external challenges ranging from managing price volatility in the oil market to addressing the issues of climate change and pollution. Our mission as a Saudi research unit is to highlight the Kingdom’s role in the global energy market through a holistic approach that involves scientific, political, and economic analysis.


For more information on Energy Studies in the Research Department at KFCRIS:

Noura Al Saud, Resident Fellow

Head of Energy Studies

nta@kfcris.com

This foundational unit is concerned with research, teaching, training, and innovation in the field of the Arabic language. It addresses the learning and instruction of Arabic in Arabic-speaking societies, as well as Arabic as a second language in the West. The unit studies and produces literary critiques as well as writings by learners of Arabic related to the subject of the Arabic language. The unit emphasizes collaboration with linguists of various East Asian languages to enrich the language references for Arabic and East Asian languages.

For more information on Arabic Language Studies in the Research Department at KFCRIS:

Dr. Arwa Obaidat, Senior Fellow

Head of Arabic Language Studies

+966 1 14 65 22 55

ext. 6649

The North African and Arab Maghreb Studies Unit is the regional research unit concerned with North Africa in general and the Arab Maghreb in particular. Its research areas span geopolitical, political, cultural, and social studies, as well as developments in the area. The unit focuses on the study and analysis of the shifts in the region and on presenting assessments of the changes, phenomena, and future of Maghrebi regimes and societies. It follows and analyzes trends and active forces in various sociopolitical arenas and monitors internal and regional conflicts, tracing their sources and consequences.

For more information on North African and Arab Maghreb Studies in the Research Department at KFCRIS:

Dr. Mohammed Sbitli, Senior Fellow

Head of North African and Arab Maghreb Studies

msbitli@yahoo.fr

 

The Contemporary Political Thought Unit aims to study the rise of contemporary political thought and its influence on the political structure of Islamic and Arab societies by shedding light on the development of political ideas in the political movements that are currently shaping the political scene. The unit encourages interdisciplinary approaches, encompassing theory, politics, culture, society, and religion in studying these ideas, movements, and societies so as to provide a broader picture and a better analysis of the development of political thought and movements in Islamic and Arab societies.

For more information on Contemporary Political Thought in the Research Department at KFCRIS: Faisal Abualhassan,

Research Fellow Head of Contemporary Political Thought abualhassan@kfcris.com

The Saudi Studies Unit specializes in the study of the historical traditions and culture of the lands that make up contemporary Saudi Arabia, with a focus on archaeology, historical anthropology,  sociology as well as the study and documentation of oral history and poetry, notably Nabatean. The unit focuses on heritage predating the unification of the Kingdom in 1932, as well as that predating the First Saudi State (1744–1818). The unit also occupies itself with archaeological and anthropological heritage studies regarding historical cultures, peoples, and societies on the Arabian Peninsula in general, including pre-Islamic ones.

 

For more information on Saudi Studies in the Research Department at KFCRIS:

Prof. Solaiman Al-Theeb , Senior Fellow

Co-Head of Saudi Studies

solali99@yahoo.com

 

The Asian Studies Unit is dedicated to the study of Asia and Asian societies in the cultural, social, political and religious spheres. It was formed as a response to the growing need for informed research on Asia at a time in which Arabo-Asian engagement is becoming ever more complicated and fraught with potential risks, yet ever more relevant and full of opportunities. As one of the regionally specialized units at KFCRIS, this unit aims to promote greater understanding of Asia within the Arab world, with a particular eye on enhancing the quality of academic, journalistic, and policy making discussions surrounding it.

 

For more information on Asian Studies in the Research Department at KFCRIS:

Mohammed Al-Sudairi , Nonresident Research Fellow

Head of Asian Studies

msudairi@gmail.com

 



Subscribe to newsletter

Newsletter contaains latest news, articles, latest publications, projects and events

Contact Us

King Faisal Center for Research and Islamic Studies
Riyadh 11543
Saudi Arabia
Phone: 00966114652255
Fax: 0966114659993
P.O. Box: 51049
Email Address: kfcris@kfcris.com

All copyrights reserved KFCRIS © 2016

الوحدات


تركز في الدراسات الأكاديمية للسياسة والعلاقات الدولية، والتاريخ، والثقافة الفكرية الإيرانية الحديثة، وأهميتها العامة لتاريخ المنطقة. وقد أنشأت إدارة البحوث هذه الوحدة لما للدراسات الإيرانية من تاريخ عريق في مؤسسات التعليم العالي في الغرب، ولوضع إيران الجيوستراتيجي في الخليج، ومساهماتها في مجالات إدارة الدولة والعلوم عبر ألفي سنة؛ (أي: قبل ظهور الإسلام)، وهو ما يجعل فهم هذه الدولة على نحو شامل، وبتحليل دقيق، أمرا بالغ الضرورة لإدراك الدينامكية والتغيرات الإقليمية الماضية والحاضرة. وتسعى الوحدة إلى استقاء معلوماتها لدراسة إيران الحديثة من أحدث المدارس النظرية والتطبيقية في مجالات العلوم السياسية، والعلوم الاجتماعية، والتاريخ، والاقتصاد، والفلسفة، وعلم الإنسان، ولا تنشر سوى الأبحاث التي تتبع أعلى المعايير الأكاديمية. وتعمل الوحدة على إلقاء الضوء على القضايا المهملة في المجال الأكاديمي للدراسات الإيرانية.

 

أنشئت هذه الوحدة للمساهمة في الحوار العالمي حول السياسة الجغرافية للطاقة من خلال دراسة الأحداث العالمية السائدة التي تؤثر في المشهد السياسي في العالم. وتهدف الوحدة إلى توفير منبر مفتوح وبناء للنقاش لتعزيز مرونة قطاع الطاقة في المملكة العربية السعودية وقدرته على التكيف عن طريق معالجة التحديات الداخلية؛ مثل أمن الطاقة، والتحديات الخارجية التي تراوح بين إدارة تقلبات الأسعار في سوق النفط، ومعالجة قضايا تغير المناخ، والتلوث. وتسعى الوحدة إلى تسليط الضوء على دور المملكة في سوق الطاقة العالمي من خلال اتباع نهج شامل ينطوي على التحليل العلمي والسياسي والاقتصادي.

 

تعنى باللغة العربية بحثا وتعليما وتدريبا وإبداعا، وتتناول قضايا الاستعراب في العالم شرقا وغربا، وما ينتجه المستعربون من أعمال لها صلة باللغة العربية. وتعكف الوحدة حاليا على التعاون مع علماء اللغات الآسيوية؛ لإثراء المعاجم في اللغة العربية واللغات الآسيوية.

 

وحدة بحثية إقليمية تعنى بشؤون شمال إفريقيا عامة، وشؤون المغرب العربي خاصة. وتتخصص في الدراسات الجيوبوليتيكة، والسياسية، والثقافية، والاجتماعية، ومتابعة التطورات والتحولات الجارية في المنطقة. وتركز الوحدة في الوقت الراهن في دراسة اتجاهات التحولات التي يشهدها الإقليم وتحليلها، وتقديم تقديرات للتغيرات والظواهر التي يمر بها، ومستقبل الأنظمة والمجتمعات المغاربية، ودراسة التيارات والقوى الفاعلة على مستوى الخريطة السياسية والثقافية والإقليمية، وعلى مستوى البيئة الإستراتيجية عامة، ورصد الصراعات والنزاعات الداخلية والإقليمية، وتتبع مصادرها وانعكاساتها.

 

تهدف إلى دراسة الفكر السياسي المعاصر في الشرق الأوسط خاصة، والعالم الإسلامي عامة، ومعرفة أصداء تأثيره، ومدى تغلغله في فكر الحركات التي لها ثقلها في صياغة الأوضاع السياسية. وتوظف الوحدة المناهج الحديثة في دراسة الحركات السياسية؛ من محاور: دينية، وثقافية، واجتماعية؛ لتحقيق معرفة أكثر عمقا بهذه الحركات، وبناء تصور شامل للشرق الأوسط والعالم الإسلامي.

 

تتخصص في دراسة التراث والثقافة السعوديين، ودراسات نقوش الجزيرة العربية، ودراسة التقاليد التاريخية والثقافية للأماكن التي تشكل المملكة العربية السعودية المعاصرة، مع التركيز على الآثار والأنثروبولوجيا التاريخية، ودراسة وتوثيق التاريخ المروي والشعر، وبخاصة النبطي. وتركز الوحدة على التراث في الفترة التي سبقت توحيد المملكة عام 1932، وكذلك الدولة السعودية الأولى (1744-1818م). كما تعنى الوحدة أيضا بدراسات التراث الأثرية والأنثروبولوجية المتعلقة بالثقافات التاريخية، والشعوب، والمجتمعات في شبه الجزيرة العربية بشكل عام، بما في ذلك مجتمعات ما قبل الإسلام.

 

هي ذراع المركز البحثية لدراسة آسيا والمجتمعات الآسيوية في الميادين: الثقافية، والاجتماعية، والسياسية، والدينية. ونشأت هذه الوحدة نتيجة لتنامي الحاجة إلى وجود أبحاث مطلعة تتعلق بآسيا في وقت أصبح فيه الاشتباك العربي- الآسيوي محفوفا بالمخاطر، وأكثر تعقيدا من أي وقت مضى، وفي الوقت نفسه مشبعا بالفرص. وتهدف الوحدة -بوصفها إحدى وحدات المركز ذات التخصص الإقليمي- إلى تعزيز إدراك أوسع داخل العالم العربي، مع تركيز خاص في تحسين جودة النقاشات الأكاديمية والصحفية، وصناعة السياسات المحيطة بها.

 



الاشتراك في النشرة الإخبارية

تتضمن النشرة الإخبارية على مقالات أخر الإصدارات، والمشاريع البحثية، والفعاليات

اتصل بنا

مركز الملك فيصل للبحوث والدراسات الإسلامية
الرياض 11543
المملكة العربية السعودية
رقم الهاتف: 00966114652255
رقم الفاكس: 0966114659993
صندوق البريد: 51049
البريد الإلكتروني: kfcris@kfcris.com

جميع الحقوق محفوظة لمركز الملك فيصل © 2016